Brandie Elliott / University of Missouri-Kansas City

49. That’s the number of states and territories, that are now members of NC-SARA (National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements).

The latest territory to join SARA is the Virgin Islands, approved by the SREB SARA Steering Committee in early June. SARA-participating institutions are now able to accept students from the Virgin Islands to enroll into their distance education programs.

The governor of Florida signed legislation on June 9 which allows Florida to join SARA. SREB’s SARA Steering Committee will continue to work with Florida as they get their regulations in place. The Florida Postsecondary Reciprocal Distance Education Coordinating Council must meet now. Florida is anticipated to be a SARA member within the next few months.

California and Massachusetts have not joined SARA yet but are working toward that end goal. In Massachusetts, SARA-enabling legislation has been introduced. In addition, SARA-enabling language has been included in the Massachusetts House Ways and Means budget, which was introduced in late May. California plans to introduce legislation in 2018. It is likely that California will likely join SARA in late 2018 or early 2019.

A list of SARA states and institutions participating in SARA can be found on the SARA web site.